Scorpions

Golden Jubilee Bangladesh

  • Client: Scorpions
  • Year: 2022
  • Location: Madison Square Garden, New York City
  • Camera Director: Mark Bloomgarden (Zoomari Films)
  • Touring Director: Olaf Schröter
  • Production Manager: Roland Beckerle
  • Lighting Designer: Manfred Nikitser
  • TV Lighting Operator: Michael Baldassari
Services:
Markets:

In 1971, the first “Concert for Bangladesh” was celebrated at Madison Square Garden, marking the country’s independence from Pakistan. It was organized by George Harrison and Ravi Shankar, with musical contributions from Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton and Ringo Starr.

51 years later, Scorpions marked this event’s anniversary together with the opening act “Chirkutt”. Scorpions’ brand-new tour design and latest concert set list rocked the audience in the Garden and at home, since the show was also broadcast on national Bengali television. The TV production was managed by New York based company “Zoomari Films” under the direction of Marc Bloomgarden.

Since the New York Rangers had an ice hockey playoff-game in the venue the evening before, the set-up for this concert was only possible starting from 2 a.m. on the day of the show. Precise preparation and scheduling as well as a highly experienced crew on site made it possible. A huge thank you goes out to PRG North America!

Scorpions

Golden Jubilee Bangladesh

  • Kunde: Scorpions
  • Jahr: 2022
  • Ort: Madison Square Garden, New York City
  • Regisseur: Mark Bloomgarden (Zoomari Films)
  • Touring Director: Olaf Schröter
  • Production Manager: Roland Beckerle
  • Showlichtdesigner- und operator: Manfred Nikitser
  • TV Licht Operator: Michael Baldassari
  • Publikumslicht Operator: Max Brokbals
Services:
Markets:

1971 wurde im Madison Square Garden das erste „Concert for Bangladesh“ und damit die Unabhängigkeit des Landes von Pakistan gefeiert. Organisiert wurde das Konzert damals von George Harrison und Ravi Shankar mit musikalischen Beiträgen von Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton oder Ringo Starr.

51 Jahre später durften die Scorpions für die Neuauflage des Konzertes im „Garden“ spielen. Opener des Abends war die bengali Band „Chirkutt“ bevor die Scorpions als Headliner des „Golden Jubilee Bangladesh Concert“ auf die Bühne kamen. Das brandneue Tourdesign und die neuste Konzertsetliste des Scorpions wurden live vor lokalem Publikum gerockt und zeitgleich für das nationale bengalische Fernsehen aufgezeichnet. Die TV-Produktion übernahm die New Yorker Firma „Zoomari Films“ unter der Regie von Marc Bloomgarden.

Da am Abend vorher noch die New York Rangers ihr Heimspiel der Ice Hockey Playoffs im Venue hatten, war der Aufbau für dieses Konzert erst ab 2 Uhr morgens des Showtags möglich. Absolute präzise Vorbereitung und Zeitplanung als auch die jahrelange Erfahrung der gesamten Crew machten es möglich. Herzlichen Dank an dieser Stelle an PRG North America!

Hier geht es zum Beitrag des Events auf rollingstone.de